What I read in December

You know, I’m not sure if I need to write introductions to these blog posts. Although I feel like I should. Anyway, here’s what I read this month.

the-woman-in-black-coverThe Woman In Black

Susan Hill, Vintage 1998

The stage adaptation of this novel has a reputation for being frightening, because it is. The Woman In Black is full of creepy moments, but not frightening ones. The creepiness, however, is persistent, and equally threatening when read in the daytime and at nighttime.

 

 

write-to-sell-coverWrite to Sell

Andy Maslen, Marshall Cavendish Business 2009

I’d read bits of Write to Sell, but never from cover-to-cover. I regret not doing this until now, because the tips it offers are essential for any kind of persuasive writing. If you’re a copywriter, buy it now. It will be on my desk forever.

 

 

9781844714759frcvr.qxdThe White Road

Tania Hershman, Salt 2008

As with Write to Sell, I’d heard bits of The White Road before, but I’d never read it in full. These short stories pack a huge punch, especially ‘Fish-Filled Sea’, which has a powerful message about loving somebody exactly the way they are. 

 

 

One last thing

This is my final post of 2016, so I just wanted to wish you a happy New Year! Thanks for reading and subscribing to Thought Dump. I hope you write and read well in 2017.

Leave a Reply

