New power, no supervision

For not unlimted power but no supervision

As I explained in my last blog post, I started a new job recently. It involves me doing important things without much direction.

I’m the marketing assistant, and I’ve been at the company for a couple of weeks now. So far I’ve scoured, re-organised and removed 10 years’ worth of marketing-related content from the company’s computers. They did not need all of it.

I oversaw my first direct mail campaign. I didn’t write the copy for the letter that got sent out, but I did make sure it was going to the right people by updating a database of high-end decision-makers. Another part of this involved doing a mail merge, something else I was new to. I’ll talk about that more next week.

What they want

Over the next six months the company will be launching a new website, which they want me to write the copy for. They’ve got no social media presence, and they want me to create and monitor accounts and coordinate the content that will go on them.

They regularly send out eshots (email marketing) to their clients and prospective clients, which they want me to take control of.

They attend loads of industry events throughout the year, and I’ll be the one who learns what they’re allowed to take to each event and what they decide to take.

The most responsibility

In my short career history, this is by far the most responsibility I’ve been given with the least amount of mentoring and supervision. There are certain things I’ve never done before, like mail merge and writing eshots, and it looks like I’ll be teaching myself how to do them.

If that wasn’t scary enough, I’m the only person in the company who’ll be doing the things I’ll be doing. Everyone else provides the actual services for clients. As I’m the only marketing assistant, the company is depending on me to thrust their content into sales.

But I think this will be good for me. From the mail merge experience, I can tell I’m going to learn a lot here just by having to do it. Even if it’s at the company’s expense.

Being dependent on me is also flattering. It means the company saw the work I’ve done before and thought I was good and capable enough of handling the responsibilities they’ve given me.

Lots of self-learning

My new job is going to be daunting, and there will be a lot of things to self-learn. But I’ll be better off career-wise for this because by the end of it, I’ll be able to say I’ve done the things I’ve done.

Leave a Reply

