Goodbye, Bournemouth. Sort of.

Photo for Quitting

I left Bournemouth because I couldn’t get a job in its creative industries. After I moved back to Southampton, I got offered a job in Bournemouth. And I accepted that offer.

I moved to Bournemouth in January 2015 as I’d gotten a job at a copywriting agency a few months earlier. I was tired of commuting on the train from Southampton every day, and it made sense to live in the town where I was going to be working for the foreseeable future.

But the future isn’t foreseeable. One week after I moved, I found out I was being let go from my job as there wasn’t enough work for me to do.

I knew Bournemouth had a reputation for being a creative and digital hub, so I thought I’d stay and try to find work in these industries. A couple of months later I got some freelance writing work that took me up to July.

This experience was a real confidence-booster and encouraged me to look for more freelance opportunities. Between August and October I had two close calls, but neither of these went anywhere.

Not enough experience

I applied for more creative jobs and got invited to lots of interviews, but I never made it past this stage. When I asked why, I always got the same answer: the other candidates were just that little bit more experienced than me.

This process repeated itself until April 2016, when I accepted luck wasn’t on my side. I decided to stop applying for creative jobs in Bournemouth, and look for work in other cities.

But a couple of weeks ago, I got a phone call explaining there was a marketing assistant job available in Bournemouth and my employment experience was particularly relevant to it. They asked me if I’d like to have an interview with the company.

I thought it’d be silly to this down, so I said yes. A few days later, I got another phone call telling me I was the only candidate being considered for the job. After going back to the company’s office to do a copywriting test, I got yet another phone call offering me the job. I said yes to the offer, but I still moved back to Southampton.

Disjointed work situation

During the 18 months I lived in Bournemouth, I didn’t make many friends and found there wasn’t much to do. Plus my disjointed work situation put me off living in the town any longer.

Some good things did happen, and I’m thankful for those experiences. But these things weren’t big enough reasons to stay. So it’s back to traveling between my home town and work town on the train, until I can afford a car.

3 thoughts on “Goodbye, Bournemouth. Sort of.

  1. This I find interesting. I am caught between Southampton and Bournemouth too. My daughter couldn’t find any work in Southampton but found work easily in Bournemouth. She is living with her boyfriend’s parents there and they stay with us at the weekend. We have to move. I love my native Southampton but my husband and daughter want to live in Bournemouth. We have decided to go and live on a boat (cheaper than rent) which will be based in Southampton and help our daughter and boyfriend buy a place in Bournemouth which we can winter up in. I love the train – it is so quick compared to the car. But my husband and daughter love their cars.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bournemouth’s supposed to have the fastest-growing digital economy in the UK. This was based on the number of start-ups in this industry there were in the past few years. What I learned, however, is that start-ups don’t necessarily mean jobs. Particularly entry-level jobs.

      Regardless, I wish you and your family all the best.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

