Some things I needed to hear

I recently wrote about how I may never earn a living from writing and how people my age have been raised to feel disappointed when they don’t achieve their career goals.

The job rejections had me feeling a bit lost for what I should be doing career-wise. But then I heard some things that helped me realise my situation isn’t as bad as I think it is.

The video-blogger Chris ‘Bing’ Bingham published a video called ’20 things all Bings in their twenties need to hear’, where he and fellow blogger Mandy talk about some statements aimed at twenty-somethings who feel like I do.

There were several points that stood out for me, and I’ve written about them here. 

Having high standards

On the subject of loving yourself, Bing says ‘It’s not that I hate myself. I think I hold myself to a very high standard. When I feel like this I feel disappointed.’

I’d say I hold myself to a specific criteria, rather than a high standard. I know I want to make a career out of writing, and when I consider looking for work in other areas it feels like giving up. That’s when I feel disappointed.

A friend recently told me about a job that someone with writing skills would be good at, but because it wasn’t writing I didn’t want to apply for it. I felt myself sighing on the inside because applying for it would have felt like a career detour.

Not having your dream job yet

I want a career in writing, but I’m disappointed that I don’t right now. But I wonder if this is because I’ve been raised to believe I should feel this way in this situation.

There are loads of people my age who want to work in the creative industries, which can take years of proving yourself to break into. Some don’t know what their dream job is yet, or as Mandy points out, ‘Don’t have a single dream job.’ All of this is fine.

Because people my age have been raised to believe they should know what they want to do right away, it feels like a bigger blow than it actually is when they get turned down for their dream job.

Being overly-familiar with your own work

When I see the interesting things that my creative friends are up to, I get jealous and upset. I’m not jealous of what it is they’re doing, but when I see how much they’re up to it makes me feel like I’m not doing enough of my own work. Which is silly.

I spend a lot of time on this blog, and I know that people will think my writing is awesome. They’ll also think my ambition of pitching to and writing for trade magazines is awesome. None of this is of less value to the work of other creative people.

I just think it is because it’s more familiar to me, which is why I totally agree with Bing when he says ‘My cool things I’m familiar with so it seems less cool to me.’

Feeling calmer

There are lots of other points in Bing’s video that will resonate with people my age, but those were three that I felt applied to me. Hearing what Bing and Mandy had to say has helped me feel a little bit calmer about my career situation, and I know it will be able to do the same for others.

Leave a Reply

