Writing at 6 a.m.

sunrise-165094_640

For the past two weeks, I’ve been getting up at 6 a.m. from Monday to Friday and writing. I wanted to see how much work I could get done at this time, and I’m impressed by what I’ve been able to do.

 Not the evenings

As I work between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. from Monday to Friday, I don’t have time to write during the day. I used to reserve writing for Tuesday evenings, but I’m not a huge fan of writing at this time.

This is because my brain’s exhausted from 8 hours of work, and I just want to relax at this time. Plus, writing for 60 minutes once a week means I don’t get a lot of work done. Usually all I do is write a final draft of one blog post, and a first draft of another.

This encouraged me to experiment with writing early in the morning for a couple of weeks. I’ve always been someone who’s more effective when they work in the morning, too.

Working it out

I spent the first week working out what pattern works best. On Monday, I woke up at 6 a.m. and turned my laptop on at 6:05 a.m. I got a lot of writing done, but my laptop’s screen brightness was a bit too intense for my eyes after I’d only been awake for 5 minutes.

On Tuesday and Wednesday, I turned my laptop on at 6:10 a.m. and spent the first 10 minutes of the day jotting down notes on paper to give my eyes time to adjust. However, the laptop screen was still too intense and I got less work done.

Thursday and Friday were the best days. After I woke up, I splashed cold water over my face and made myself a cup of coffee. I turned on my laptop and started working at 6:15 a.m. and finished at 7 a.m. As I got a lot done this way, I repeated this process for all of the second week.

How much writing?

I should point out that when I use the term writing, that doesn’t just mean writing a final draft of a blog post every morning. Writing is an over-arching term that covers research, planning, writing drafts and editing.

Still, if I keep on writing at this time, I’m confident I could get one or two blog posts completed per week. I could also use this time to brainstorm, write and submit pitches to trade magazines (another one of my writing ambitions which there will soon be a blog post about).

I’m worried I may not be able to write at this time every day because eventually I will feel tired, and this will mean I produce lower quality work. I’m already planning on giving myself weekends off, and I’m considering writing in the morning 2 or 3 days per week or every other day.

What works best

Writing between 6:15 and 7 a.m. each weekday means I get a lot of writing-related work done, but I have concerns over how sustainable this working pattern will be. It may be that I always write early in the morning, but not every weekday.

Leave a Reply

