My writing goals for 2016

Everyone makes New Year’s Resolutions about all sorts of things. I do too, but I’ve always preferred to use the term ‘things to do’ because it implies they can be done at anytime. New Year’s Resolutions barely make it into the New Year. Do they simply go out of fashion after January?

With that in mind, here’s a few writing-related things I want to do in 2016.

Renew my interest in journalism

I used to read and write a lot of journalism, but when I got my first copywriting job I stopped making time for it. After a few months of this, I felt like I’d lost my interest in journalism.

One of my freelance jobs this year had some journalistic elements to it, and this reminded me how much I enjoy journalistic writing.

I will try to read my local newspaper at least once a week, and a national newspaper or magazine at least once a month.

As for writing more of it, I’m considering launching a new section on this blog for arts reviews and interviews. I liked doing this before, and getting more experience of it for no financial cost (excluding the price of an event ticket) seems like common sense.

Pitch more ideas

Recently I read magazines from my local council, a water company and a train company. Magazines I wouldn’t normally read.

As I was reading the features in these magazines, I considered what the content was about, how it was written and who it was aimed at, and then started having my own ideas for features for these magazines.

In 2016, I want to pitch to magazines and websites that I may not usually read. I want to consider who the average readers of these publications are, and what they are interested in reading about.

This will help me to be a more selfless writer, which is useful for copywriting and journalism as the writing in these disciplines is meant to capture someone else’s attention.

Keep reading books from local libraries

For the last six months of 2015, I’ve been inspired to read books from my local library about anything. This has helped me to get into books that I may never have considered reading before, which is great for understanding how authors write for different audiences.

I also tend to enjoy the books I read. If I don’t, it’s not like I lose much. Taking books out of the library costs nothing, after all! Doing this more is also common sense.

A lot of reading and writing

So, these are my ‘things to do’ in 2016 that involve reading and writing. As somebody who loves reading and writing, I’m hoping they’ll be pretty easy to do.

Do you have any writing goals for the New Year? Feel free to share them in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

