How much of a stereotypical writer am I?

Various media have portrayed the ‘writer’ stereotype. You know, the idea of what a writer is supposed to be or how they can seem to others.

Stereotypes aren’t representative of a whole group of people, but I was curious to see how much I identified with the traits these media link with writers. I’ve listed some of these below, and considered if and how they may apply to me.

  1. Caffeine addiction

Okay, I write in coffee shops. Not chains ones, though. I always go for the independent cafés. Which is probably even more stereotypical. I just like to have a change in scenery when I’m writing sometimes. I also like coffee a lot, but I can’t have too much of it.

  1. Procrastination

I like to think I’m relatively proactive and good at organising my time. I tend to write in the morning and early afternoon as this is when I’m most productive. You’ll find me slacking off in the evening.

  1. Drunk

I don’t drink much, and when I do it’s mostly in social settings. I’ve never stumbled around my flat smashing wine bottles in a rage. Maybe I’ve not been a writer for long enough. Actually, one of my favourite blog posts ever is a story about giving up alcohol.

  1. Reclusive 

I’ve always been quiet and introverted, even around company. But I like going out for walks and runs. Also, most of my friends live in different parts of the UK so I don’t see many of them regularly.

This is inspiring me to make the most of my own company and do exciting things without waiting to see if anyone wants to come with me. I spend a lot of time on my own, but not all of it in a state of recluse.

  1. Vain

Nope. I’m fully aware I’m not ‘God’s gift’ to the world. I don’t think highly of my creative work (This blog is a load of bollocks) and my profession. Sitting at a desk typing words into a computer seems unimportant in the grand spectrum of jobs.

  1. Broke

The money I got from my last freelance job means I can pay my rent for the rest of the year, so I’m definitely not in poverty. And I’ve bought some nice things with that money. But I know writing doesn’t always pay so kindly.

It’s call to action time! If you’re a writer, how do you compare to the stereotypical writer habits mentioned here? What other habits can you think of? Let me know in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

