My copywriting CV

I’ve been applying for jobs and contacting (okay, pestering) agencies about my writing services a lot lately, and it’s got me thinking about some of the words people use on their CV.

I feel like there are some go-to words that freelance writers don’t need to use, or don’t need to apply to themselves. I’ve dissected a few here.

Team player

Doesn’t the term ‘freelance’ suggest lone wolf? Sure, we’ve got to talk to people to find out what they need written, and to find out what parts of our work need to be improved, but only for bits at a time. The rest of the time, we’re doing the work with nothing but our brains and fingertips.

Creative

This is surely a given when it comes to being a writer. When we write, we create something. Some CV advice websites suggest having portfolios to prove this, and I’d agree with that. Our writing can speak for us.

Proactive

As with being creative, the act of telling people you’re a writer through emails and job applications shows you’re proactive. Writers have to be proactive in order to get work. Otherwise, we’d all be spending our time writing blog posts about writing rather than getting on with a project. Maybe I’m not very good at what I do.

I’m sure there are lots of other words we put on our CVs because we think they should just be there. I may think of a few more and do another blog post like this one in the future.

If there are any words you feel this way about, feel free to say what these are in the comments section below.

Leave a Reply

